Historically significant High Victorian Gothic cottage built in 1867 for Judge John Monell and his then new wife, Caroline Downing, the widow of Andrew Jackson Downing. Long time friend and former colleague of Downing, Frederick Clarke Withers was hired as the architect. This design was published in the 1873 edition of Cottage Residences as Design XXV. The estate known as Eustatia was named after the West Indies island from which the wife's family had emigrated. Today this beautiful house sits on nearly 5 acres of rolling property overlooking the Hudson River. The rooms are grand with beautiful proportions, original moulding, doors, hinges, mantels, tile work and detailed inlaid wood flooring. This original brick beauty deserves to be brought back to it's historic glory. There's plenty of space with 4 bedrooms upstairs and formal rooms on the main level with charming bay windows and many gothic details inside and out. The original house has french doors in the parlor which opened to a veranda but now open to an enclosed family room and deck with spectacular views of the Hudson. Less then 1 mile to Beacon train station and Main St. This house is on the National Register of Historic Places.
The data relating to real estate for sale or lease on this web site comes in part from the Mid-Hudson Multiple Listing Service, Inc. Real estate listings held by brokerage firms other than the publisher/owner of this website are marked with the MHMLS logo or an abbreviated logo and detailed information about them includes the name of the listing broker. The information appearing herein has not been verified by the Mid-Hudson Multiple Listing Service, Inc. or by any individual(s) who may be affiliated with said entity, all of whom hereby collectively and severally disclaim any and all responsibility for the accuracy of the information. Copyright 2022 Mid-Hudson Multiple Listing Service, Inc. All rights reserved. Updated: 11th December, 2023 9:23 PM (UTC)